Boston City Councilor Kim Janey Endorses Josh Zakim for Secretary of State

July 23, 2018

BOSTON—Boston City Councilor Kim Janey (Roxbury) announced that she is endorsing Josh Zakim in his campaign for the Democratic nomination for Secretary of State.

“Josh has built a platform largely focused on the inclusion and involvement of the people of Massachusetts in government affairs,” said Janey. “He cares deeply about ensuring that all voices are heard across the state. As someone who has been involved in efforts to expand access to voting for decades, I recognize Josh’s commitment to expanding the franchise. I believe he will work hard to uphold the needs and interests of Massachusetts residents.”

Access to government is a central element of Zakim’s campaign. He has proposed allowing residents to register to vote on Election Day, further expanding early voting and hosting statewide elections on weekends.

Janey was elected to the Boston City Council in 2017 and represents District 7. She has been a long-time advocate for systematic policy reforms to ensure equitable, quality education in Boston Public Schools, and serves on committees including small business, civil rights, public safety, ways and means, housing and community, and more. Janey served as a founding board member of MassVote.

“I am honored to have the support of Councilor Janey,” said Zakim. “From our time working together on the Boston City Council, I have witnessed her commitment to supporting and improving the lives of all people of the Commonwealth.”

“The Secretary of State’s office is vital to every single person in Massachusetts, even if they don’t realize it,” Zakim added. “From eligible voters to business owners to investors to residents who simply want to know what is happening with their tax dollars, this is their office, and I will be fighting in their corner every day.”

Councilor Janey joined Councilor Zakim and campaign volunteers on Saturday to knock on doors in Roxbury.

Zakim has also been endorsed by other Boston elected officials, including Mayor Marty Walsh, Council President Andrea Campbell, Councilor Michelle Wu and Councilor Matt O’Malley.